Home > About > About CUSAT

The Past

Originally known as University of Cochin, the University came into being in 1971 through an Act of the Legislature that was the result of a concerted campaign for quality postgraduate education in the State of Kerala.

Reorganization of the University into Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) saw the fulfilment of the aspirations of the pioneers that spearheaded the movement for establishment of a science & technology university in the State. The process of reorientation resulted in redefining the objectives as “the promotion of graduate and post graduate studies and advanced research in applied science, technology, industry, commerce, management and social science.”

The Present

Cast in the mould of a federal University, distinctly different from other universities in the State, today CUSAT is a premier Science and Technology University of the country. While striving to live up to the expectations of the society, the University has made quantum leaps in its academic pursuits and has spread its wings far and wide to encompass new and emerging frontiers across the academic horizon.

CUSAT is academically structured into 9 faculties: Engineering, Environmental Studies, Humanities, Law, Marine Sciences, Medical Science & Technology, Science, Social Science and Technology.

It has at present 26 Departments of study and research offering Post Graduate programmes across a wide spectrum of disciplines in frontier areas of science and technology. The Centre for Engineering Studies additionally offers several graduate programmes in engineering and technology.

During the last three decades of its existence, CUSAT has registered steady growth and has earned recognition as one of the highly reputed and internationally acclaimed Indian Universities. The University has academic links and exchange programmes with several institutions across the globe. The emergence of CUSAT as the single Indian University to be chosen for long-term financial assistance by the Government of Netherlands under the MHO programme eloquently testifies to its proud record of academic achievements and strengths.


To encourage and promote collaborative, multidisciplinary interaction Centres in specialized, thematic areas were established in the University during the past couple of years.

Conceived to act as umbrella organizations for facilitating inter-faculty interaction and joint enterprises that aim at wholesome integration, assimilation and dissemination of knowledge beyond all sectarian confines, these Centres are expected to engage themselves in unfettered intellectual pursuits.

Recognized Institutions

By according the statutory status of “Recognized Institution”, the University has brought under its larger domain, a host of professional institutions, national laboratories and research organizations of repute in the State. This has catalyzed the spread of quality education and has paved the way for healthy interaction between academics and scientists.

The Future

The mission of the University is to make distinctive and eloquent contributions to the cause of higher education in science and technology. CUSAT has pledged to strive to offer teaching of the highest quality and to engage in research and scholarship that will contribute to the advancement of knowledge in leaps and bounds.

In keeping with the motto of the University; “Tejasvinavadhithamastu”, which conveys, “May learning illumine us both, the teacher and the taught”, the atmosphere in the campus is vibrant and intellectual. CUSAT is always on the move, girding up its loins with grit and determination to unravel the myriad, unexplored mysteries of knowledge.

Statutory Bodies

The Syndicate

The Syndicate is the chief executive body of the University comprising seventeen members and presided over by the Vice - Chancellor. It has powers for general superintendence and control over all its institutions. The Syndicate normally meets once a month.

The Senate

The Senate, comprising eighty-three members, under the chairmanship of the Vice-Chancellor, reviews the general policies of the University and suggests measures for improvement and development, from time to time. The Senate normally meets once in four months.

The Academic Council

The Academic Council is the principal academic body of the University and has powers to coordinate and exercise general supervision over the academic programmes and policies of the University. It is also responsible for the maintenance of standards of instruction, research, education and examination within the university. It comprises one hundred and twelve members and is presided over by the Vice - Chancellor. The Academic Council normally meets once in four months.

Other Statutory Bodies

These include the Faculties, Boards of Studies, Departmental Councils, Planning Committee, Finance Committee, Staff Council and the University Appellate Tribunal.

The Campuses

There are three separate campuses, two in Cochin and one at Pulinkunnu, about 65 km south of Cochin.

The Main (Trikkakara) Campus

The Main Campus is located ~1 km off the National Highway 47 at South Kalamassery. About 180 acres in extent, it houses the academic Departments / Schools in all the Faculties except in Environmental Studies and Marine Sciences, the Administrative Office, the University Library, the student hostels and staff quarters besides other support services.

The City (Lakeside) Campus

The Lakeside Campus, ~12 km away from the Main Campus, has an idyllic setting in the heart of the City on the estuarine water front. The Departments / Schools in the Faculties of Environmental Studies and Marine Sciences are located in this Campus alongside a hostel for men students.

The Pulinkunnu Campus

The recently acquired Pulinkunnu Campus in Kuttanad (Alleppey District) is about 65 km away from the Main Campus. Kuttanad comprises Kerala’s serene, picturesque backwaters, the enrapturing scenic beauty of which is to be seen to be believed. The Pulinkunnu Campus is home to the Cochin University College of Engineering, Kuttanad (CUCEK) and the Cochin University College of Computer Applications (CUCCA).